Poem Change

After thinking I had my definite poem choice and idea on what I was going to do for it, I was looking online at different stop motion videos and came across this one which I really liked.

I then had a complete change in my idea and wanted to try and make a stop motion video. I didn’t think this would suit my current poem choice so I read again at some of William Allingham’s poems and liked ‘Kate OBelashanny’

Stop motion, also known as stop action or frame by frame, is an animation technique to make a physically manipulated object appear to move on its own.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6vZ0iqUS6sg&feature=related

I also thought this one was really cool by incorporating both 2D and 3D design.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ByGq-EdQ2L0&feature=related

 

Seek up and down, both fair and brown,
We’ve purty lasses many, O;
But brown or fair, one girl most rare,
The Flow’r o’ Belashanny, O.
As straight is she as poplar-tree
(Tho’ not as aisy shaken, O,)
And walks so proud among the crowd,
For queen she might be taken, O.
From top to toe, where’er you go,
The loveliest girl of any, O,-
Ochone! your mind I find unkind,
Sweet Kate o’ Belashanny, O!

One summer day the banks were gay,
The Erne in sunshine glancin’ there,
The big cascade its music play’d
And set the salmon dancin’ there.
Along the green my Joy was seen;
Some goddess bright I thought her there;
The fishes, too, swam close, to view
Her image in the water there.
From top to toe, where’er you go,
The loveliest girl of any, O,-
Ochone! your mind I find unkind,
Sweet Kate o’ Belashanny, O!

My dear, give ear!-the river’s near,
And if you think I’m shammin’ now,
To end my grief I’ll seek relief
Among the trout and salmon, now;
For shrimps and sharks to make their marks,
And other watery vermin there;
Unless a mermaid saves my life,-
My wife, and me her merman there.
From top to toe, where’er you go,
The loveliest girl of any, O,-
Mavrone! your mind I find unkind,
Sweet Kate o’ Belashanny, O!

‘Tis all in vain that I complain;
No use to coax or chide her there;
As far away from me as Spain,
Although I stand beside her there.
O cruel Kate! since that’s my fate,
I’ll look for love no more in you;
The seagull’s screech as soon would reach
Your heart, as me implorin’ you.
Tho’ fair you are, and rare you are,
The loveliest flow’r of any, O,-
Too proud and high,-good-bye, say I,
To Kate o’ Belashanny, O!
As this poem is so long I was thinking of taking the first verse and making a stop motion video, creating a main character for Kate O’Belashanny.

So I had a go at making a stop motion and really didn’t like it at all, here is a picture of the character I created for the video.

~ by stephc0nn on October 8, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
